Driver Education School - Policies and Procedures
To enroll in Driver Education, a student must be 14 years of age.
Attendance: Attendance is
extremely important. Students must attend the Eight hour Instructional
class and must complete tests during this time period. A student may not
miss any portion for State Certification.
Evaluation Procedures: This
class will be evaluated as Pass/Fail. Students must successfully
demonstrate proficiency on all driving procedures as required by the State
of Kansas. All requirements must be completed prior to issuance of the
Certificate of Completion.
Procedure: Due to the nature of
this course, testing out is not an option.
Car: Driving times will be
developed with student or parent and teacher. A minimum of SIX hours will
be required to satisfy state requirements. Cancellation of driving time
must be by 8 PM the night before the scheduled drive or a fee will be
charged for additional driving time at $50.00 per hour, paid in advance of
Certain types of
footwear have been determined to be unacceptable for driving instruction.
These include clogs, Birkenstocks, open backed sandals and thongs.
Due to the serious nature of the material covered and the safety of others
in the class, inappropriate student conduct will result in dismissal from
the driver education without refund.
Involvement: Parents are
encouraged to take an active role in the learning process of their student
by providing additional supervised driving opportunities between sessions.
Kansas Law requires 50 hours of supervised driving by age 16.
The new Kansas Law requires students to drive 50 hours with an adult, 10 of
which must be night driving, in order to receive a regular license at age
16. A Certificate of Completion will be issued to students who successfully
complete the driver education course. The Certificate of Completion will
allow the student to receive a Kansas Driverís License (no other written or
driving testing is required.) YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR TAKING CARE NOT TO
LOSE THESE FORMS.
Note: A Motor Vehicle
Department Driverís License Examiner has the right to test anyone before
issuing a license, even if they present a Certificate of Completion.
However, given Harder Performanceís excellent reputation, this has not yet